Your Real Estate Professionals In Spain
Audifans.net: Audi Forums

www.audifans.net :: View topic - powersteering - all fluid dumped

Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
View next topic
View previous topic
hefty

PostPosted: Fri Oct 03, 2014 4:19 pm Reply with quote Back to top

hi all

im a complete newbie to audis have just bought a 1995 2.6 coupe gt. love the car and have had great fun driving it untill he other day just driving through traffic. the light for a failure to break system showed so i pulled over to find that the power steering fluid reservoir was empty and it had been sprayed all over the front of the engine bay by the belts im presuming. i topped it back up and drove home. to have it all dumped again but least i was now home. i have followed the pipes down and into what i am presuminig is the pump behind the top cener pully? and there dosent seem to be an obvious leak on the pipes but there is so much fluid up around the pullys and pump i have no idea where i would have come from.

any ideas of some quick fixes i can try in order to chase down the leak? i dont want to buy a new pump as it will cost a bomb.

also i read after that there is specific fluid i should use? i just used normal powersteering fluid to get it home what should be going in there any hydrolic fluid or something specific?

thanks
Ben

shaun5
Needs to get out more

PostPosted: Fri Oct 03, 2014 4:32 pm Reply with quote Back to top

power steering pump top cap "o" ring has probably gone, it can be bought as a separate item from Audi. Do a search to find the part number and a picture of what it looks like. You might be lucky and its just a bango bolt loose?

Get that steering fluid out ASAP. as you have said its a special fluid that's used (mineral) It also operates the power brakes.

hefty