Your Real Estate Professionals In Spain
Audifans.net: Audi Forums

www.audifans.net :: View topic - 2.7t jerky clutch

Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
View next topic
View previous topic
turlough

PostPosted: Fri Oct 01, 2004 11:30 am Reply with quote Back to top

Hi

I am new to the posts and would like to hear your thoughts.

I have recently bought a 2001 A6 2.7t sport Quattro, manual, 40K mileage.

The clutch seems jerky when changing up or down and the 6 speed gearbox seems notchy. But if i change gear over say 2500 revs it seems to be smooth.

Is this normal on these cars.

Terry

eddiecrawford
Got Nothing Better To Do

PostPosted: Fri Oct 01, 2004 1:22 pm Reply with quote Back to top

99 2.7 avant

mine is pretty jerky too, 100k, i think original clutch. i had an 87 100 with the smoothest clutch so this one has taken a bit of getting used too...

if you change quickly it seems to be a bit smoother. ie is it a "racing clutch" whatever that might be....

mine also gives a clunk when i depress the clutch, does yours?

avantissimo
Camped on the site

PostPosted: Fri Oct 01, 2004 6:59 pm Reply with quote Back to top

I have not had this problem for a very long time: prefere auto nowadays.

the clutch surface must have uneven wear (or perhaps some drops of oil on part of it.)

with higher revs this is compensated somewhat but a new cluch will be needed I think

turlough

PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 12:08 pm Reply with quote Back to top

The strangest thing has happened.

I was also having a problem with wheel vibration between 65 & 80 mph. I have had a front tyre replaced, wheels balanced, tyres swapped around, wheels balanced and repeated at a 2nd tyre shop, 4 trips in total. So as a last resort I decided to swap rear wheels with front and these then balanced.